Reviews

Reviews

4.9 Great

493 reviews

Filter by rating

471

11

7

3

1

Reviews you can trust

All our ratings are from genuine customers, following verified visits

  • connie b.

    Jan 25, 2023

    My daughter and I are both thrilled about our treatments (color for me, cut for her). Done by Irina and Ellie, two wonderful professionals! Great service, great atmosphere!

  • Sylvia T.

    Jan 24, 2023

    100% happy with color and cut. Irina is a true hair master.

  • ML

    Marta L.

    Jan 15, 2023

    Lovely people and great haircut! Elia gave me a really nice scalp massage during my wash and Mino was meticulous. Will go again.

  • CC

    Clara C.

    Jan 14, 2023

    Such a master doing blonde! Thank you Cody!!!

  • Taylor S.

    Jan 13, 2023

    I love Ellie so much 🥹 She is a breath of fresh air every time I come in!

  • Mary M.

    Jan 12, 2023

    Cody was incredible! Very personable, extremely knowledgeable and kept me informed every step of the way. He helped me achieve exactly what I was looking for and talked me through what I’ll need to do to continue with my color!

  • DD

    Drita D.

    Jan 7, 2023

    This was a first time visit to Self. I was in serious need of finding a high quality stylist who knows layers & face framing (my former stylist was top notch Paris trained) so I have a high standards. I’ve tried a few well-rated places in the neighborhood only to leave baffled by poor quality cut Luckily, Irina came to the rescue restoring my faith again! She gave me an amazing long layered cut with lots of well framed volume that compliments my face structure. Irina also gave good recommendations for maintaining hair health. Looking forward to returning for coloring w Irina!

  • Winnie R.

    Jan 5, 2023

    Thank you Marietta!

  • UG

    Una G.

    Dec 23, 2022

    Ellie is AMAZING. I have thick, unruly hair and she totally transformed my look and gave me a look I love. I highly recommend her.

  • V S.

    Dec 22, 2022

    I had a hair cut this morning with Marietta. She was very sweet, but the Haircut I received wasn’t really what I wanted, I showed her two examples and it didn’t look anything like that, it was just shorter and I wanted shorter, she got that one thing right. She was very pleasant as a person but I wouldn’t go there again. When she was cutting my hair it hurt, idk if it was because of the tools or technique, she also burned my scalp pretty badly I can still feel it. I didn’t mentioned, I just wanted to get out of the chair. This was my first time and I won’t return.

  • Tanya S.

    Dec 21, 2022

    Cody is FANTASTIC — beautiful color and a killer cut as well!

  • Kate R.

    Dec 18, 2022

    Great cut. Lovely people.

  • CK

    Christine K.

    Dec 16, 2022

    Thank you!

  • Kait M.

    Dec 11, 2022

    Great cut! Very comprehensive and loved the styling!

  • Nancy G.

    Dec 11, 2022

    The care and attention paid to how you look and feel are incredible!

  • JF

    Jen F.

    Dec 10, 2022

    Staff was very accommodating and I got exactly the cut I wanted from the owner Maria.

  • Sarah S.

    Dec 3, 2022

    Maria always gives a great haircut—helpful and friendly service all around.

  • SP

    Susan P.

    Nov 20, 2022

    Mino is a wonderful hair cutter and the head massage was terrific!

  • Kristin D.

    Nov 19, 2022

    Cody is the only colorist I’ll trust with my hair. He always nails whatever style I’m looking for, which is quite the varied mix. I’ve followed him throughout his career and loved my trip to Self for another great cut and color. 12/10 recommend.

  • JB

    Jackie B.

    Nov 19, 2022

    Loved the salon. Clean and bright. Great service. Marietta did a wonderful job cutting my hair and she really listened to exactly what I wanted. She even went back and trimmed a little more when I asked at the end! It was such a positive experience

  • AS

    Amanda S.

    Nov 18, 2022

    Amazing! Thank you

  • Katherine R.

    Nov 17, 2022

    I’ve been coming to Self for seven years now and I’m always happy with the service and haircut I get! Both the Williamsburg and Bushwick locations are great. Highly recommend.

  • MW

    Margo W.

    Nov 16, 2022

    Great folks giving great haircuts!!

  • Alaina W.

    Nov 10, 2022

    Ellie and Elia are the best!!!

  • EG

    Elodie G.

    Nov 6, 2022

    The staff was very welcoming. Very happy with the haircut and I had a good time. Thanks again, I’ll come back !

We use cookies to improve your experience and monitor website traffic. Cookie policy